Words and Pictures – Colorado

Instead of the usual exercise where I wrestle with my own tangled, disjointed thoughts and words I decided to just post some photos from a couple recent adventures in Colorado and borrow a few of my heroes’ much more poignant, more powerful words.

One of the most important things left on the Earth for you is wilderness. Your minds, your bodies, the 100,000 chemical reactions that go on inside you without you knowing…all were formed in wilderness, during the 4 billion years of life on this Earth: not in so-called civilization, not in the last two hundred years since the Industrial Revolution, but in wilderness. There have been no mistakes. You are here.
-David Brower

Rise free from care before the dawn, and seek adventures. -Henry Thoreau

Books or no books, it is a fact, patent both to my dog and myself, that at daybreak I am the sole owner of all the acres I can walk over. It is not only boundaries that disappear, but also the thought of being bounded. Expanses unknown to deed or map are known to every dawn, and solitude, supposed no longer to exist in my country, extends on every hand as far as the dew can reach.  -Aldo Leopold

The wilderness holds answers to more questions than we yet know how to ask. -Nancy Newhall

Keep close to Nature’s heart… and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean. -John Muir

Get out. Find your hope. Read the Earth. It is an extraordinary book: full color, stereo sound, wonderful aromas, the wind. It is an extraordinary planet. -David Brower

