Bighorn Creek Pikas

Bighorn Creek Trail Aspens

Bighorn Creek Trail Aspens

This week I re-visited the Bighorn Creek Trail, one of my favorite trails in Colorado’s Eagle’s Nest Wilderness Area, for some wilderness relief.  I made my way into the wilderness under a mix of brilliant sunshine and ominous clouds.

The Gore Range and Aspens

The Gore Range and Aspens

A good destination for this trek is the circa 1925 cabin built in the shadow of the Grand Traverse in an alpine meadow with mixed conifers and knock-out views. In mid-September there’s a good chance you’ll find early snow in the mountains like I did two years ago when I created the image below.

Cabin in the Wilderness

Cabin in the Wilderness

Summer has put up more of a fight this year so skipping the cabin I opted to find the American Pika racing and squeaking around in the talus field just below the cabin. In the same order as rabbits, Pika’s are about 6-8 inches long and weigh between 4-6 ounces. One of the only two species in North America, American Pika’s are temperature sensitive little things that are indicator species for detecting the ecological effects of climate change.

American Pika - Colorado

American Pika – Colorado

Learn more about the American pika and the Pikas in Peril Project here and find more reading here.

